Sign in

The Constitution

What is ZANU PF?

  • Zimbabwe African National Union- Patriotic Front (Zanu PF) is a total Political, Indigenous Economic Emancipation and a National Liberation Movement Package for Zimbabweans by Zimbabweans prepared to shed their blood in defence of their Sovereignty at all times.
  • Its a liberation movement which thrives on and cherishes National Unity which has created the sound condition of Peace and Security which Zimbabwe has enjoyed and a rare gift many countries dream of.
  • Is driven by its Democratic African Values where the leadership is accountable to the membership which elected it, hence the holding of District Conferences, the Annual People's Conference and the National People's Congress.
Aims and Objectives
  • To establish and sustain a society that cherishes African Values and to create conditions for economic independence, prosperity and equitable distribution of wealth of the nation.
  • To preserve and defend the National Sovereignty and Independence of Zimbabwe.
  • To Uphold and apply fully the rule of Law, Equality before the law and Equality of opportunities for all people in Zimbabwe, regardless of race, tribe sex, religion or origin.
  • Continue to participate in the worldwide struggle for the complete eradication of imperialism, colonialism and all forms of racism.
  • To support and promote all effects for the attainment of the Pan African goal for the complete independence and unity of African states.
  • To oppose resolutely, tribalism, regionalism and forms of exploitation of man by man.
Membership of the Party is open to:
  • All citizens and residents of Zimbabwe who subscribe to the Constitution, Aims, Objectives and Policies of the Party.
  • Any organization, association or society whose aims and objectives are not inconsistent with those of the Party.
  • On acceptance, a member shall pay the joining fee.
Rights of Members
Every member of the Party shall have the right:
  • To vote in any Party elections in accordance with such rules and regulations.
  • To be elected to any office in the Party.
  • To participate in meetings and other activities organized by the Party.
Duties of the Member
Every member of the Party shall have the duty:
  • To be loyal to the Party.
  • To observe and resort to the Policies, Rules and Regulations of the Party.
  • To strive continuously to raise the level of his or her own political and sound consciousness and understanding of Party policies.
  • To strengthen, promote, defend the Party and popularize its policies.
  • To conduct himself or herself honestly and honourable in dealing with the Party and public and not to bring the Party into disrepute or ridicule.
Zanu PF Structures

The Cell:

The cell is the vanguard of the Party at the level of the village and the community, representing its interest, expressing its aspiration and mobilizing the membership to work together for their area's development. Members of Cell Execute Committee hold Office for a period of one year.


The Branch:

The branch is made up of ten cells. Its Executive Committee is elected every two years at a Branch Conference by delegates representing each of the ten cells.


The District:

The district consists of 10 Branches whose delegates elect the District Executive Committee once every two years.


The District Coordinating committee (DCC):

The DCC is made up of all Party Districts in an Administrative District. The Executive is elected at District Conference.


The Province:

The province consists of as many Administrative Districts as there are in a Province and all Party Districts. Members of the Provincial Executive Council are elected at Provincial Conference by the delegates representing each Party district in the province. The provincial elections are held once every three years.


The Women's League:

Every woman who has attained the age of 18 years and who is a member of the Party is entitled to membership of the Women's League through her Branch Executive Committee. While it is an autonomous body, the League functions within the main structure of Zanu PF. Its main objectives are to promote the rights of women and remove all impediments to their development as full and equal members of our society.


The Youth League:

The Youth League is an integral part of Zanu PF. Its major objectives are to mobilize the youth to fully participate in the political, social, cultural and economic affairs of the country. Membership is open to all Zimbabweans between the ages of 15 and 30 years.


The Central Committee:

The Central Committee is the principal organ of the Congress and consists of 230 members drawn from the Party's country 10 Provinces. It acts on behalf of Congress when it is not in session and among other things; implement all policies, resolutions, directives, decisions, and programs enunciated by Congress. The Central Committee meets once in three months.


The Politburo:

The Politburo is the standing Committee of the Central Committee and implements all the decisions, directives, rules and regulations of the Central committee. It meets at least once a month and is answerable to the Central Committee on all matters.


The National People's Congress:

This is the Supreme Organ of the Party and is composed of members of the Central Committee; The National Council of the Women's League; The National Council of the Youth League; The Provincial Co-ordinating Committees ; the various Provincial Executive Councils, and unless otherwise directed by the Central Committee; the Chairman, Secretary, Political Commissar and Treasurer, two members from the Women's League and two members from the Youth League from every District Executive Council of the Party.

As the Supreme Policy making organ of the Party, it elects the President and first Secretary, Two Vice Presidents and Second Secretaries of the Party, as well as members of the Central Committee. It formulates, pronounce and declare all Policies of the Party and has the power and authority to amend the Constitution. The Congress, which meets once every fives years, is the Supreme and Ultimate Authority for implementation and supervision of the Policies, Directives, Rules and Regulation of the Party.


The National Consultative Assembly:

The National Consultative Assembly comprises of members of the Central Committee, National Assembly of the Women's League and their deputies, the ten Provincial Executive Councils, former members of the Central Committee on account of their contribution to the liberation struggle or development of the country after independence. It receives, hears and debates any major matters of Policy as the President and First Secretary or Central Committee shall from time to time determine. It also makes recommendations to the Central Committee on any matters of policy relating to the Party or Government. It meets at least twice a year.



Tell it like it is

2011 Resolutions

Must see places

a must see places

Powered by MobileValley.