Menu Close

The President

Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa (born 15 September 1942) is a Zimbabwean politician serving as the third and current President of Zimbabwe. A longtime ally of his predecessor Robert Mugabe and a senior member of the ruling ZANU–PF party, Mnangagwa served as First Vice President of Zimbabwe from 2014 until his dismissal in early-November 2017. On 21 November 2017, Mugabe resigned (a removal recognised in a statement by the African Union, not as a “coup”, but as a legitimate expression of the will of the Zimbabwean people),and Comrade E.D Mnangagwa was sworn in as President on 24 November 2017.

Mnangagwa was a liberation war leader during the Rhodesian Bush War. After Zimbabwe was recognised in 1980, Mnangagwa held a series of senior Cabinet positions under Mugabe, .

Mnangagwa served as Minister of Defence from 2009-2013, when he became Minister of Justice. Mnangagwa was also appointed as Vice President in December 2014 and was widely considered to be a leading candidate to be Mugabe’s successor.

President in action